Travels in Scotland – Rosehearty on the Moray Firth

This morning I looked out of my hotel room window and could see the sea. The sky was cloudy, but it was otherwise warm and there was no sign of rain so I decided to break my journey along the Castle Trail and explore the village of Rosehearty where I was staying.

Rosehearty is on the Moray Firth and is four miles west of the town of Fraserburgh in Aberdeenshire. It boasts a small harbour and is untouched by tourism.

The Davron HotelThe Davron Hotel in Rosehearty where I am staying

It was low tide at 9 am this morning when I reconnoitred the sea shore and in the tiny harbour most of the boats were resting on mud.

Rosehearty HarbourRosehearty Harbour at low tide facing the village

Rosehearty Harbour 2Another view of the Harbour this time facing the sea

I passed a house where there were wetsuits hanging from a washing line indicating that this area was popular with divers. I came to a grassy picnic place where there was a splendid view across the Firth. This space seemed to be greatly favoured by the locals, a small number of whom were out walking their dogs. My earlier guess about scuba diving was born out by a sign encouraging people to dive the Moray Firth. Everyone I met seemed exceedingly friendly and most wished me Good Morning.

Moray FirthThe Moray Firth from the Rosehearty official picnic area

Dive the Moray FirthSign at official picnic area encouraging scuba diving in the Moray Firth

Keith Jahans

Leave a Reply

