Travels in Scotland – The Castle Trail Continued

Today I checked out of the Rosemount Palace and set off north along the Castle Trail intent on seeing more wondrous castles along the way.

The next one on my list was Tolquhon Castle and this is how I like my castles in ruins with plenty of atmosphere. It looked like I was the only one to have arrived. The lady steward in the gift/information shop sold me a ticket to go inside and a guide book for only £1 as it was shortly to be reprinted. She apologised that she had not been able to sweep up the leaves upstairs because of the rain and told me to take extra care when moving around. This was to be the first castle where I was to venture inside and from what I saw it was well worth it.

Tolquhon CastleTolquhon Castle

Tolquhon Castle 2Inside Tolquhon Castle

A little further along the trail was Haddo House. This was more like a Stately Home than a castle and I nearly passed it by but as it was on the list I took some photographs of the exterior and then moved on.

Haddo HouseHaddo House

The next three castles all seemed to be still lived in and again looked a lot like Stately Homes. Delgatie Castle seemed to be the most run down and so to me was the most atmospheric of the three.

Fyvie CastleFyvie Castle

Delgatie CastleDelgatie Castle

Duff HouseDuff House

Duff House is the ninth castle on the list and is the halfway point along the trail. It is near the coastal town of Banff. From there I travelled eastward along the coast to the village of Rosehearty and the Davron Hotel where I had booked to stay for the next three nights. I got there at 2.30 pm and they were still serving lunch so I treated myself to a Sunday roast. It was delicious.

Keith Jahans

Leave a Reply

