Travels in Southern England – Reflections On The Bath Literature Festival

10 March 2015

The Literature Festival ended on Sunday 8 February. I was struck by the number of biographies that were on show. Almost all the talks I went to were about or concerned with real people. There were some sessions about writing and self publishing which was heartening and I visited the one about promoting your self published books. However, it seems that it is celebrities that draw the crowds. As a fiction writer myself, I would have preferred to hear more from novelists and short story writers. Still the festival was professionally run and the talks I attended were expertly presented. On the whole it was a very worthwhile experience.

Bath is a fascinating city to visit because of its Georgian architecture. Most of the city’s attractions, The Abby, The Roman Baths and the Pump Room, are in a few yards of each other and easily accessible on foot. Parking is a problem but there is an excellent “Park and Ride” service and train station. The Central Library is one of the best I have visited and is not far from the Guildhall and the Abby. I spent a of number hours working on my laptop there utilizing its excellent internet wifi connection. To show my appreciation I donated it a copy of the Peatmore Press novel, “Gifford’s Games” part of which is set in the city.

Keith Jahans
Editor, Peatmore Press

Bath Central LibraryBath Central Library not far from the Abby and next to Waitrose

Gifford's Games Front Cover with BorderGifford’s Games published by Peatmore Press and available in paperback or as an ebook
from http://peatmore.com/giffordsgames.htm

One Response to Travels in Southern England – Reflections On The Bath Literature Festival

  1. Dorotha says:

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!|

Leave a Reply

