Travels in Russia – Day 7

St Petersburg, 7 June 2013

This morning I ent shopping in the street next to our hotel and bought a hat and a Russian Doll.  Then I took a closer look at the Church On The Spilled Blood.

Another View of The Church On The Spilled BloodAnother View Of The Church On The Spilled Blood

Then we took a coach trip to see The Catherine Palace an opulent building named after The Empress Elizabeth’s mother and Peter The Great’s second wife.  On the way we passed by a monument to Lenin.

Lenin Monument

The Catherine PalaceThe Catherine Palace

Inside The Catherine Palace 1Inside The Catherine Palace I

Inside The Catherine Palace 2Inside The Catherine Palace 2

Inside The Catherine Palace 3Inside The Catherine Palace 3

Inside The Catherine Palace 4Inside The Catherine Palace 4

Much of the palace was badly damaged during the German invasion in World War 2.  The famous Amber Room (where it is forbidden to film) was looted and much of it carried away. However, a great deal of the building has been restored but  more is needed to be done and building work and scaffolding was much in evidence.

Photo of German Bomb Dropped On Catherine Palace Wich Failed To ExplodePhoto of German Bomb dropped on Palace in World War II

Outside The Catherine PalaceOutside The Caherine House

My visit to Russia ends tomorrow so to end the day we dined for a third and final time in the Literary Cafe in Nevsky Pr a few hundred yards form our hotel (The Nevsky Grand) where I ate another Hassar Snack (red caviar, smoked salmon, pancakes with a tot of Vodka) followed by a Russian beef roll, baked potatoes, grilled vegatables and washed down with dark Russian beer and more vodka.

Keith Jahans
Editor, Peatmore Press

10 Responses to Travels in Russia – Day 7

  1. Elena says:

    I loved these posts on your trip to Russia! I was born and raised in St.Petersburg, and it is such a treat to read and see the images 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing! Elena

  2. Having read this I believed it was very informative.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this information together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  3. Keep up the superb function , I study couple of content material on this internet site and I conceive that your web site is real interesting and holds bands of superb information .

  4. Lon Cobb says:

    We had the triple caviar with blinis and vodka as a starter, borsch soup in between and then the boeuf stroganoff…excellent. Very good service. If you stay in the hotel (Grand Hotel Europe), for your first russian impressions, this might help a lot!

  5. I was able to find good info from your content.

  6. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website.

    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

  7. That is very interesting, You are an excessively skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to searching for extra of your
    wonderful post. Additionally, I have shared your site in my social networks

  8. Hi to every one, the contents existing at this web site are in fact remarkable for people experience, well, keep
    up the nice work fellows.

  9. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.

    I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from
    your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

